One Teacher's Voice

Think.Learn.Know.Act

Reflections from week one

I successfully survived my first full week of teaching ESL. I immediately adored the kiddos and my co-workers are great! I can finally find my way around and I’m starting to actually remember people’s names…though not all by any stretch of the imagination.

Here is what my reading material has been:

20130119-175820.jpg
Words Their Way and Phonics They Use are my new bibles. I am responsible for squeezing in a lot of instruction into a very small amount of time…though all teachers can accurately say the same. Whether you have 30 minutes or a whole day, there’s always more to teach than there is time for.

Here are a few reflections from my week:

-I’ve never worked somewhere where the day flew by faster than in a school building.

-No matter how prepared you are with your lesson, something inevitably has to change at the last minute.

-One of the most challenging parts of my job is trying to find time to use the restroom.

-Kids do all the things you didn’t think of (such as getting their fingers so stuck in a cafeteria table that the fire department has to be called…to cut up the table and send said kid to the hospital. Yup that happened…don’t worry, the kid is a-ok!).

-First graders love using pencil sharpeners.

-First graders cannot seem to keep track of their erasers for more than 15 minutes at a time.

-I’m fairly certain teachers comprise about 75% of the frozen meal industry’s profits.

-I’m continually flabbergasted at teachers who yell at their students to be quiet.

-The English language is messed up and weird. It’s incredibly hard to learn and it’s also hard to teach.

-But, I love it. I love just about every second of it. It’s like trying to figure out a puzzle. And when it works? Truly remarkable.

Happy Martin Luther King, Jr. day!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 19, 2013 by in Teaching.
