One Teacher's Voice

Think.Learn.Know.Act

Nearing a crossroads

I have completed my first student teaching placement in kindergarten. The children, of course, were amazing. I learned a tremendous amount.

I am now in 2nd grade ESL and I am absolutely loving every minute of it. The climate of the school is welcoming and comfortable. I notice teachers and students smiling more than they are not. I hear students and teachers switching in and out of Spanish on a moment to moment basis (side note: I get to practice my Spanish which I have wanted to do for a long time). My mentor teacher is kind, knowledgable and I am going to learn so much from her. I am slowly taking over bits and pieces in the classroom and next week I begin working with a few individual students and small groups with my own plans. I can’t wait!

It has been an amazing and life-changing journey as a pre-service teacher and soon I will be able to call myself a licensed teacher. I just have a few hurdles to pass through (one more PRAXIS test, completing school, etc.). Now I start the always fun process of looking for a job. I asked my mentor teacher yesterday when I should start sending out my information. She replied, “as soon as possible.” Time to get on that.

I hope to update my high stakes testing page soon but obviously there will be a big gap in time. There has been so much press on the negatives of high stakes testing, I might have to re-think how I organize the page. There’s no way I’m going to type up every single article that’s been published. Though it would be interesting.

Time to get ready for school!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 27, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , .
